Nutella Cupcakes

Hi guys!

It was my Dad’s birthday last week and I wanted to make him something special and personal!
My dad loves to ride his bike so I thought a little bike-decoration would be nice.

Last year, I made him this awesome Moustache Cake.

I opened my favourite cookbook, United States of Cakes, and went for the Nutella Cupcakes!
Roy Fares, the author, claims this recipe to be one of his best. I can tell you he’s so right! This recipe is awesome!

I tried to pipe the Nutella frosting in roses and I did it! I was pretty proud of myself because my little roses really looked like roses 🙂 (Which wasn’t the case at all with my first attempt ever)

Nutella Cupcake 01

What do we need (+- 10 cupcakes):

  • 100 g self-raising flour
  • 150 g sugar
  • 30 g cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon cornflour
  • 10 g vanilla sugar (= 1 bag)
  • 1 egg
  • 75 ml milk
  • 50 ml hot coffee
  • pinch of salt

For the Nutella frosting:

  • 150 g dark chocolate
  • 250 g butter
  • 150 g powder sugar
  • 10 g vanilla sugar (= 1 bag)
  • 100 g Nutella
  • pinch of salt

Nutella Cupcake 03

How to:

Preheat the oven at 180 degrees centigrade.

Mix together the egg and the milk. Mix the dry ingredients and add them to the egg-milk-mixture.
Add the coffee and mix until the batter is smooth.

Place your cupcake wrappers in a baking mold and fill them 3/4.
Bake the cupcakes for about 20 minutes. If they come out of the oven, you have to check them. Gently push on top of the cupcake. If it goes back to its original form, it’s ready!
Let them cool down.

Now let’s make some magic with Nutella!

Melt the chocolate. Mix together the butter, powder sugar, vanilla sugar and salt.
Add the Nutella and the chocolate. Mix until the frosting is soft and smooth.

Cupcakes ready? Let’s fill our piping bag with Nutella frosting and pipe them in beautiful roses!

I’ve also made some white chocolate bikes to decorate the cupcakes with. You just have to melt the chocolate, put it in a piping bag and follow the shape of the drawing you have put under the baking paper.

Enjoy!

Nutella Cupcake 02

Have a delicious day ❤
xxx Sarah

Find me on:

instagram facebook twitter pinterest

21 thoughts on “Nutella Cupcakes

    1. I tried to send them but my postal office kept sending me messages the pigeons who had to deliver them ate the cupcakes 😮 Over and over again!
      He says thanks ^^ ❤

      Like

  1. Lovely cupcakes and I also love the little bicycles! Really cute and nicely done! Must try piping chocolate like that someday… Thank you!:)

    Like

  2. Oh my, this cupcake has my husbands name written all over it. First of all, we both love Nutella and are big cyclers. You said this was your first rose attempt? I think you must have been a cake decorator in a previous life because your roses came out amazing! Thank you for bringing them to FF#75 and enjoy the rest of your weekend.

    Like

Leave a comment