USC#2: Fudge Brownies with Fleur de Sel

Hi guys!

I’ve got a little treat for you!
I wanted to stay in line of Salon du Chocolat so it’s something with chocolate 😉

May I present to you:
Fudge Brownies with Fleur de Sel!
USC1

It’s only half covered in chocolate cream because one of my colleagues is allergic to lactose.
And since I didn’t want her to feel left out, I’ve made half for her.

It’s my second recipe from the awesome book United States of Cakes by Roy Fares and it didn’t dissapoint!
You probably wonder why I’m telling you this?
Well at first, when it came out of the oven, it didn’t look that good. I thought it was a complete failure and I was actually pretty convinced that I could throw it all away. Or at least not bring it to work because it was the first thing I brought and what would they think of my baking skills if I gave them this…

Wrong. Wrong. Wrong.

It was delicious! My colleagues loved it.
I still think my Brownies are better but it’s something different. 🙂
It’s got that nice chewy, fudgy, flavour and the Fleur de Sel makes it yummy in my tummy!
Easy to make and easy to eat. That’s all you need!

Too bad they didn’t look as good as the picture in the book! (Working on that!)

What do we need (+- 15 pieces):

For the chocolate glaze

  • 150g dark chocolate
  • 1,5 dl cream (>35%)
  • Fleur de Sel or seasalt

For the brownies

  • 150g butter
  • 250g sugar
  • 70g cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 60 g pastry flour
  • baking paper
  • square baking tin

How to:

Preheat the oven at 160°C.

Put some baking paper in the baking tin.

Melt the butter.
Mix together the sugar, cocoa powder, salt and vanilla sugar.
Add the melted butter and mix it all together.
(It’s normal if it’s a bit granulated)
Mix together the eggs.
Add the flour and stir the mixture until it’s a smooth batter.

Put the batter in the baking tin and bake the brownie for about 30 minutes.
Check with a toothpeck when it’s done.

Let’s start making out chocolate glazing.

Heat the cream. Break the chocolate in small pieces and add them to the hot cream.
Stir until the chocolate is completely melted.
Set aside to cool a bit.

When the brownie is cooled and the chocolate glazing is almost completely chilled, we can assemble our delicious treat.
Poor the chocolate glazing over the brownie. Sprinkle some Fleur de Sel or seasalt over the brownie.
Put it in the fridge to chill.

If the chocolate glaze is a bit stiffer, we can cut the brownie into pieces.

Enjoy!

USC01
(Mr. Deliciousness on my fancy notepad at work)

Have a delicious day ❤
xxx Sarah

Find me on:

instagram logo logo-facebook3 twitter Pinterest-logo

You can find the Link Parties I attend here.

19 thoughts on “USC#2: Fudge Brownies with Fleur de Sel

  1. This looks incredible! Thanks for sharing at What’d You Do This Weekend? I hope you will join us again this Monday morning 🙂

    Like

    1. Awww thank you so much! You’re so sweet! I thought it was a failure because it didn’t look as impressive as the picture in the cookbook. But I’m not a professional so maybe that’s normal 😉

      Like

Leave a comment