My first attempt to make bread

Hi guys!

Last week, I made bread.
Oh well, I wanted to… And I actually also kind of did…
Let me say just this: when I opened the oven, it looked awfull!
I really thought that I had failed 100%…
But the taste was good. Very good actually.

Roggeverdommeke5

Let’s start from the beginning.

I wasn’t bored or anything, had loads of stuff to do. But suddenly I felt the need to bake something.
No. No desserts because my mom wants me to start making some healthy dishes from now on.
So I knew it couldn’t be anything sweet… I mean, hello, can you imagine me making healthy desserts???
And that does not include that sugar free apple pie, oh no!

I opened my favourite cookbook and searched for something to make.
There it was: “Roggeverdommeke”.
Although I had just been shopping for groceries, I jumped in my car again and went to buy some flour for the bread.
My dad was thrilled when I told him I’d be making his favourite bread!

But as I told you, it didn’t really looked like our favourite bread. AT. ALL.
The dough hadn’t gained a nice bread-like colour. In fact, the colour hadn’t changed one bit!
I wanted to taste it anyway. See how bad it really was…
There it was! The one, the only, the “Roggeverdommeke”!!!
My parent’s LOVED it!
Too bad that the bread wasn’t what it was supposed to be. But hey, it was my very first bread!
And taste is more important than looks, right?
Besides, you can’t accomplish perfection without a little faillure 😉
(Especially when it comes to making bread…)
Next time, that bread will look fabulous! I can feel it.

brood

What do we need:

  • 250 g wheat flour
  • 250 g rye flour
  • 2 teaspoons dried yeast
  • 1 spoon honey
  • 3 dl lukewarm water
  • 5 g salt
  • 200 g currant
  • baking tin

Roggeverdommeke6

How to:

Blend the flour in a large bowl. Make a little hole in the middle.
Dissolve the yeast together with the honey in the lukewarm water. Leave it for about 10 minutes.
Poor the yeast-mixture in the hole and blend it all together until you get a dough.
Add the salt.
Knead the dough for about 15 minutes until it’s elastic. Make a ball of it and set aside under a damp towel for 40 minutes so it can rise.
Now, you can go watch some series or something 😉 Because, yes, 40 minutes is one episode!

Oh, you’re back! Great, let’s move on.
Grab your little ball who isn’t that little anymore (no, it’s not huge. Don’t overreact.)
Add the currant and knead again. (Do you know how hard it is to keep the currant in the dough?!?)

Butter the baking tin and put our ball of dough in it. Let it rise again for 60 minutes under a damp towel.
Now you can actually go to the toilet during your episode! Awesome!

Pfew… Last steps:
Bake the bread for about 35 minutes at 190 degrees centigrade.

Can you believe it. The waiting-time in this recipe is equal to 3 episodes of your favourite series…
Who said watching series makes you lazy because you can’t do anything else that day…
Well, I most certainly didn’t!

Have a delicious day and enjoy your bread!
(I hope yours looks better than mine did!)
xxx Sarah

 

43 thoughts on “My first attempt to make bread

  1. HA I love hearing you talk about this attempt… you sound like me, I have a breadmaker that does all of the work for me, otherwise I’m scared- but you did great, it made me hungry! Nice!! 🙂

    Like

  2. As you said, the taste matters the most!! Next time it will not only be delicious but also good looking 😀 the thing about failure is that you can try again and again, and will keep learning until you reach perfection! Way to go 😀

    Like

  3. The texture of the bread looks great, it’s wonderful the bread was a success in the taste dept. Good texture, good taste = success. Well done for your first attempt. My first loaf was not nearly as good and it didn’t taste good either.

    Like

  4. Hahaha…i can imagine how u feel, happened to me when i tried bread at home but looking at it, you have a good start! It looks great for a first attempt i should say! 😀

    Like

          1. Lol!you have a lovely blog btw…looking forward to more awesome posts..btw facing the same situation at home with my mom asking me to prepare “healthier desserts”.. It is a tricky task.

            Like

              1. Oh!Tricky it is, what about cereals and things like oats…and egg whites..i come from a “we-dont-like-extremes” family. Desserts too sweet, too creamy, too buttery or rich wont work. I constantly have to work my head on butter and sugars..

                Like

                    1. Damn! You just inspired me for my next baking trial. I reside in the Uae, and i was just at Costa’s the other day (sure the menu must be different where you are) there is something called ‘The Chocolate Twist’ which is a long croissant like pastry roll stuffed with tiny dark chocolate chips all over! Its amazing! Should probably give it a shot at home soon 😀

                      Like

                    2. Yep you are right..croissant pastry is a challenge…I do remember watching Meryl Streep preparing croissants in one of the movies…and boy that looked easy! But first …will have to look for a recipe that seems right 😉

                      Like

Leave a comment